Agronomy

VegNET – The National Vegetable Extension Network

National Vegetable Extension Network_vertical_CMYKHorticulture Innovation Australia has teamed up with members of the vegetable industry to develop VegNET (National Vegetable Extension Network). The aim of VegNET is to effectively communicate information to growers through 10 regionally-based extension projects, with coordination and support provided by Applied Horticultural Research.

Researchers have previously made great progress in developing and testing new methods for pest and disease control, post-harvest handling, soil health, biosecurity, crop agronomy, nutrition, irrigation, health and nutrition, and more.

The role of VegNET  is to  communicate this vitally important research-based information to Australian vegetable growers.

It may surprise you to know just how much information has been produced by current and already completed vegetable R&D projects:

  • The Australian vegetable industry and Hort Innovation has funded 235 separate research or development projects over the past 10 years;
  • There are more than 600 R&D outputs currently available on the AUSVEG InfoVeg website (ausveg.com.au/infoveg), as well as relevant outputs from other horticultural industries, R&D from the private sector and international scientific literature;
  • A recent review of vegetable industry extension materials identified and reviewed nearly 300 extension resources including facts sheets, ute guides, books, CDs and DVDs, websites and posters.

 

The review is available to download here.

How  it works?

Regional projects: The lifeblood of VegNET flows from 10 regionally-based extension projects. The regional extension projects and the leaders’ contact details are listed below.

Picture1

 

Region Industry development officer Email  Local website
Bowen Gumlu and FNQ Cherry Emerick idm@bowengumlugrowers.com.au Click here 
Wide Bay Burnett Michelle Haase michelle.haase@bfvg.com.au Click here 
Bree Grima bree.grima@bfvg.com.au       Click here 
Lockyer Valley Pat Salter ido@lockyervalleygrowers.com.au Click here 
NSW Bill Dixon bill.dixon@lls.nsw.gov.au Click here 
Matthew Plunkett matthew.plunkett@lls.nsw.gov.au Click here 
Western Australia Truyen Vo truyen.vo@vegetableswa.com.au Click here
Samantha Grubisa sam.grubisa@vegetableswa.com.au Click here
Northern Territory Greg Owens greg@ntfarmers.org.au Click here 
Samantha Tocknell ido@ntfarmers.org.au Click here 
South Australia Hannah McArdle hannah.mcardle@ausveg.com.au Click here 
Tasmania Emma Egan emmae@rmcg.com.au Click here 
East Gippsland Shayne Hyman shayne.hyman@eastgippslandfoodcluster.com.au Click here 
Victoria  – Northern, Western and South Eastern Carl Larsen (South-Eastern region) carll@rmcg.com.au Click here 
Clinton Muller (Western region) clintonm@rmcg.com.au Click here 
Ken Orr (Northern region) ken.orr54@bigpond.com Click here 
This project has been funded by Horticulture Innovation Australia Limited using the vegetable levy and funds from the Australian Government.
HIA